top of page

The Year I Became “Elfie”

Hello All! So my last post was about me and my journey with Christ.  Now I will be talking about camp! Yeah thats right! Camp!! I actually didn’t hear about this camp till the fall of 2015. That fall my sisters and I were at our on campus bible study and they had guest speakers who wanted to tell us about their camp.. they showed us the video, talked about how fun it was and all of the things you would experience. Sadly, I wasn’t even really paying attention to the whole thing because in the back of my mind I didn’t think that I would ever be a good enough christian to be a counselor at a christian camp. So I put it out of my mind.. fortunately for me my close friend that was sitting next to me was quite interested but hated talking to people alone, so she begged me to go to the information table with her after the service, little did I know that that moment would change my life.

So I went up to the table with her and politely made small talk with one of the recruiters while I waited for my friend to sign up for an interview, they asked me if I wanted to sign up as well and I was like sure what the heck, I probably won’t get it anyway I’ll just do it to humor them. So I put down a date that I was free to interview and went online to finish the online portion of the application.  As I was writing my testimony and explaining how God has worked throughout my life, I began to see the change he had done in me over the past year.. you know how when you are living through something you never really think much of it until you take a step back and realize just how much you’ve been through.. yeah I had that moment. and I then began to think that maybe it wouldn’t be so bad to help make that change in other young lives. So with a little more hope and passion I went to my interview, unlike any of my other friends that were interviewing I had decided to dress casually, and when I say casual I mean I was wearing leggings with a sweatshirt that said BOOM!! on it. That got my interviewers attention because apparently it was just the right amount of weird for a camp. The questions were where I was feeling a bit iffy, I’m a very bias person, I don’t really have a specific view point on things and I am not really good at backing up my reasoning, so when the words just started flowing out of my mouth I knew that it was God speaking through me. After the interview I was still not feeling very confident and I knew that it would be weeks till I found out whether or not I got the position. I later found out that they interview college students across the U.S and although over three-thousand usually apply they only accept one-thousand, so I knew that my chances were slim. After several weeks my friends were getting their call backs.. all but me. I didn’t really allow myself to get my hopes up, I learned a long time ago that that would just lead to more disappointment so I wasn’t too sad about it, and then one night after bible study exactly twoweeks after my interview one of the recruiters that I met called me telling me that all though I did not check off the option of working at Camp in the City he fell in love with my spirit and absolutely had to have me on his team, I knew what that camp was when I was filling out which camps I wanted to work at and knew that I for sure did not want to work at that one because I saw myself working at an onsite camp. so I told him that I would think about it, so he gave me 24 hours to pray about it, and pray I did, and it just felt so right. So 24 hours later I called him back and said yes. Hahah he yelled to his whole office that I agreed and they all screamed with joy.. it was weird, that wasn’t the reaction I expecting but at that moment I felt at home.

Ok so that was a lot and I am nowhere close to finishing so I will continue on at another time.. until then.

P.s ~ If you guys were wondering why the title is called when I became Elfie, That’s my camp name, well a nickname for my camp name, my full name is Elf Be There For Boo! Yeah its a mouth full, But since I received that name it has become apart of me, with that name is the miraculous things God has done in me.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page