top of page

Managing Stress

Much thanks to the Coronavirus stress levels are through the roof. I have known many people who have not only not been able to return to school and had to adjust to online learning but many have also lost their source of income resulting in anxiety/panic attacks, stress eating, crying, mood swings depression and the list can go on. I myself had 4 anxiety attacks in the span of two weeks from just thinking about how the world was changing right before my eyes. I'm not going to lie, the past three months have been scary and life-changing, but with a few stress management techniques I was able to control my attacks and get myself through the rest of my semester finishing with my first 4.0! So if it worked for me, hopefully, these tips can help you as well as we slowly get back to some sort of normalcy.

 
"Today I will not stress over the things I cannot control."

Whenever I find myself in the middle of an anxiety attack I tend to feel incredibly nauseous/ faint, the only thing that I have found to work in mere seconds are a few drops on lavender oil on my hand and inhale while completing step one. cks to manage the things that tend to get out of hand.


  1. Take deep breaths from your diaphragm.


This exercise help you switch your focus over to your breathing rather than the situation at hand.


2. Use Lavender oil



Whenever i find myself in the middle of an anxiety attack I tend to feel incredibly nauseous/ faint, the only thing that I have found to work in mere seconds are a few drops on lavender oil on my hand and inhale while completing step one.


3. Treat yourself


This is one of my favorites, I find that retail therapy is my go-to stress relief, but since stores are closed and my wallet is empty, I find that small things that give me joy or "cheap thrills" instantly lifts my mood. this can look different for many people but for me, it's quality time with my family.


4. Start a new project


This became usual for me during school, I found that giving myself one day to do only what I want to do when I want to was the best way to destress. this can look like an at-home spa, vegging out in front of the tv, reading a book for hours, playing music and meditate, etc. you get the picture, now go crazy!


5. Have a "me day"


This became usual for me during school, I found that giving myself one day to do only what I wanted to do when I wanted to was the best way to destress. This can look like an at-home spa, vegging out in front of the tv, reading a book for hours, playing music and meditate, etc. you get the picture, now go crazy!


Last but not least...

6. Get a cat

I'm not just saying this because I have two cats of my own, I have very good reasons just hear me out. Cats keep very good company and are very low maintenance. It is scientifically proven that their purring can help calm anxiety/panic attacks (I can attest to this). Lastly, (but not really cause the list can go on) their cuddles are to die for! When they choose you as their bed it's the most special feeling in the world!


Comment below the things that you find helpful during stressful times.





62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page